My Sufficient Grace (2 Corinthians 12:9)

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

There is no statement in the bible that I have found to be more freeing than this one. I have titled this blog “My Sufficient Grace” because of the power this verse has in my life. I will repeat this short sentence over and over again in my head to comfort my soul and bring my mind to ease. When I can’t sleep, I repeat this until I can drift into a quiet restful place. It is astounding and almost offensive that in our weakness, we are actually stronger than we could ever be. Knowing that God’s strength will be imparted to me in the right time is so comforting.

When I think of grace my mind directly diverts to Jesus. The Gospel of the sacrifice Jesus made for us on the cross is the ultimate manifestation of grace. When God says “my grace is sufficient for you” the impact of this statement is to reflect upon what Jesus did on the cross to rid us from sin and all unrighteousness. When we have received salvation through Jesus Christ all that we need is found in Christ. Our part becomes falling in love with Jesus as He loves us. Our responsibility is to kneel at his feet and soak up the sufficiency of his grace. There is nothing else in this world that matters other than Jesus Christ and him crucified. Paul said it best, “For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified” (1 Corinthians 2:2).

I divert back to Tullian Tchividjian’s statement of “Jesus + Nothing = Everything” often because of the truth it represents and the biblical foundation for it. I’m a huge basketball fan and have played all my life. There is a commercial with Derrick Rose for Adidas where he begins a monologue while snapshots of him practicing in the gym and playing the game he loves flash across the screen. I’m paraphrasing, but he states, “If I lost all the money, the fame, the possessions, what would I have left…..Everything.” His point is that he does it for the love of the game and he has everything he wants and needs when he steps on the court. Every time I see this commercial I think of the same concept in regard to my spirituality. If I lost everything, I would still have Jesus and His sufficient grace. No one can take that away from me. In trying times, I do my best to remember this verse and stay the course. I know that ultimately I have everything that I need in Jesus Christ my LORD to the glory of God the Father.

References:

http://www.esvbible.org/2+Corinthians+12/

http://www.esvbible.org/1+Corinthians+2/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Sufficient Grace (2 Corinthians 12:9)

  1. Pingback: Blessing from God’s house | daily meditation

  2. Pingback: The work given to you | daily meditation

  3. Pingback: The purpose of Truth | daily meditation

  4. Pingback: Building in Stages | Prophetic Voice

  5. Pingback: Day 338: 2 Corinthians 11-13; Corruption, Sufferings, and Grace | Overisel Reformed Church

Leave a comment